Skippy Slacker

Wow, I’ve been a bad blogger.  It’s been days since our outing with Alex and I haven’t shared a bit of the food with you.  I’m ashamed of myself.  I’ll try to be better, I promise.  However, if you, my faithful readers, would leave more comments and tell more friends about the blog, I might just be more adamant about updating! No pressure.

So, back to Saturday.  David and I took Alex to a place in downtown Winston-Salem that we ourselves had never visited: Skippy’s Hot Dogs.

I know, I know.  Maggie, in a hot dog joint? Blasphemy!  Well, before you get your panties in a wad, I’ll go ahead and inform you that they have veggie dogs.  Now that may be blasphemy in most American’s opinion, but it was delicious!

There’s something you should know about Skippy’s dogs.  They don’t come nestled in your run-of-the-mill, limp, hot dog bun.  They are served inside an amazingly soft, chewy, fresh-baked, pretzel bun.  Made on the premises, no less!  It’s fair to say the buns are the star of this show.

Oh, look. Three weenies and fries!

I would have gotten better photos, but this place was packed and by the time these guys arrived at the table, we were way past hungry.

I did manage to get up close and personal with the French fries, though.  They deserve special attention.  These fried potatoes were amazing.  Freshly cut, hot, crispy, starchy heaven.

Aren’t they gorgeous?

Go get some.  Tell them Maggie sent you.  They’ll have absolutely no idea who you’re referring to, but it sure would be cool if they did.


3 Comments on “Skippy Slacker”

  1. Jill says:

    Are those Chicago dogs I see? (To be fair, they can’t be REAL Chi-town weenies because they wouldn’t be on a pretzel bun, but they look pretty darn close.)

  2. Jan Morgan says:

    Maggie – thanks for alerting us to the general wonderfulness of Skippy’s. Where are they located? I’m not familiar with them, but, as all the Morgans are fond of a good frankfurter, I’d like to know how to find them.

    I had a delicious hot dog experience myself, today – at Mo Joe’s Burgers, of all places. Not being in a burger mood, I opted for the all-beef hot dog in a toasted bun, topped with excellent slaw and chili. Accompanied by some tasty onion rings and an unlimited supply of un-sweetened iced tea (one cuts calories, where one can), this made for a memorable late lunch (between my theatre class, in Apex, and picking Anna up at Wake Tech).

    For your future reference, Mo Joe’s is in Raleigh, at the corner of Glenwood Avenue and Peace St., right across from the Mellow Mushroom.

  3. Marvin says:

    That is a Manly Meal!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.